Microencapsulation as technological solution
to a multitude of industrial problems

Microencapsulation includes all the technologies that allow the coating or entrapment of active ingredients inside individual particles which the size varies from several microns to several millimeters.

Encapsulating an active principle meets four main objectives which can be combined:

  • Immobilization (e.g., enzymes used during continuous bioconversion processes, volatile aromatic compounds in detergency)
  • Protection or stabilization against adverse environmental factors (e.g., probiotic bacteria in a gastric medium, fish oil in infant milk formula)
  • Controlled or delayed release on the action site (e.g., additives for concrete, semen in the field of artificial insemination)
  • Functionnalization or structuration (e.g., converting oil into powder form, taste and odor masking, improving the flow properties of a powder, visual aspect and marketing)

Microencapsulation

Microencapsulation

 

Microencapsulation is present in all areas of the industrial sector, and there are more and more ways in which it can be applied. Yet, the existence of a large number of techniques, as well as the multitude of parameters at stake, make the choices in this field of expertise difficult for a novice.

 

Based on a unique experience acquired over more than 20 years through multiple industrial collaborations and an active role played in international networks, Capsulæ offers to its clients a thorough/transversal and personalized accompaniment during the development of their microencapsulated products, from the design to the industrialization stage.

La microencapsulation comme solution technologique
à une multitude de problématiques industrielles

La microencapsulation regroupe l'ensemble des technologies permettant l'enrobage ou le piégeage de principes actifs sous forme solide, liquide, ou gazeuse au sein de particules individualisées dont la taille s'échelonne entre quelques microns et quelques millimètres.

L'encapsulation d'un principe actif répond à quatre grands objectifs pouvant être combinés :

  • l'immobilisation (e.g., enzymes mis en œuvre dans le cadre de procédés de bioconversion en continu, composés aromatiques volatils en détergence)
  • la protection ou la stabilisation vis-à-vis de son environnement (e.g., bactéries probiotiques dans le milieu gastrique, huile de poisson dans le lait en poudre infantile)
  • la libération contrôlée ou retardée sur le site d'action (e.g., adjuvants pour bétons, semence dans le domaine de l'insémination artificielle)
  • la fonctionnalisation ou la structuration (e.g., conversion d'une huile en poudre, masquage d'odeurs et de goût, amélioration des propriétés d'écoulement d'une poudre, aspects visuels et marketing)

Microencapsulation

Microencapsulation

 

Le domaine de la microencapsulation touche tous les secteurs d'activité de l'industrie, et le nombre de ses applications ne cesse de s'accroître. L'existence d'un très grand nombre de techniques et la multiplicité des paramètres entrant en jeu rendent toutefois difficile le choix du novice.

 

Forte d'une expérience unique acquise sur plus de 20 ans à travers de multiples collaborations industrielles et une participation active à de nombreux réseaux internationaux, la société Capsulæ propose à ses clients partenaires un accompagnement complet/transversal et personnalisé  dans le développement de leurs produits microencapsulés, de la phase de conception à la phase d'industrialisation.